The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old December 11, 2016, 12:05 PM   #1
t45

Help me pick out a good gun belt

I'm in the market for another gun belt. I prefer 1 1/2" black leather. I've narrowed it down to Bigfoot Gun Belts (which I'm leaning towards) and Hanks Gun Belts. Any experience with either or should I expand my search for other manufacturers?
Old December 11, 2016, 12:19 PM   #2
Spats McGee
Staff

I have two gun belts, an Aker B21 and a DeSantis Econobelt (which is technically an "underbelt"). I've had the Aker for ~7 years, and it has served me very well. Same for the DeSantis, but I've only had it ~5 years. That said, I'm probably going to replace the Aker within the year, and I have my eye on the Bigfoot belts, as well.

I have no experience with Hank's. The Beltman (with whom I also have no experience) always seems to come highly recommended. Most of the holster manufacturers (Crossbreed, Aker, DeSantis, Galco, etc.) also make belts. Given that those folks are in the "hang stuff on your belt" business, I'd take a look at them, too.
Old December 11, 2016, 12:30 PM   #3
boondocker385

I have a Banks and a Bigfoot but like my Aker more. ...
Old December 11, 2016, 02:10 PM   #4
dgludwig

Of all places, Wal Mart has a selection of very thick and robustly made belts that are relatively modestly priced. I wore an elk-lined belt made by Safariland for many years before I "out-grew" it.
Old December 11, 2016, 04:02 PM   #5
Gary Gill

Wilderness makes some belts stiff enough to support a holster.
Old December 11, 2016, 05:38 PM   #6
L-2

http://gunbelts.com (BIGFOOT)
https://www.hanksbelts.com (25% off, ends 12/12/16)

I don't have either of these brands you've mentioned, but they look good on the websites.

My main experience with good leather belts is with Galco:
http://www.galcogunleather.com/1-1-2-belts_8_254.html

I had the CB3 and a CSB7 and both worked fine.