The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 23, 2009, 04:00 PM   #1
cargopilot

Just starting - Rockchucker for .40/.223 ?

Hi all,

Looking to get started reloading the rounds in the title. Those are my 2 primary rounds. I may try 30.06 down the road but that's not even on the charts right now.

I have never reloaded pistol/rifle before. I have been loading shotgun for about 25 years now.

My question is this.

Is the Rockchucker adequate to load .40 & .223 or should I step up to at least a turret press?

Right now I cannot envision loading more than about 200 rounds of each per month. That may change down the road.

Thanks in advance for your advice!
Old July 23, 2009, 04:10 PM   #2
Hydraulicman

I started with a rock chucker and it works great. It will breeze threw .223 sizing

Heck you could resize a .460 weatherby on that press

and i believe .338 lapua !

Last edited by Hydraulicman; July 24, 2009 at 11:59 AM.
Old July 23, 2009, 04:14 PM   #3
ophidia

I can crank out about 100 rds an hour with mine. Rock Chucker = indestructable.
Old July 23, 2009, 05:07 PM   #4
NWPilgrim

A single stage press like the RockChucker is fine for 200 rds per month. I loaded thousands of rounds, mostly in 100-200 rd batches, and a single stage press. If budget is not a big deal then having a nice single stage press to start and adding a turret or progressive later (if needed) would be a great way to go.

If budget is a concern and you think you would shoot a lot more then a turret is a nice step up. I have the Lee Classic Turret Press. It is cheaper than a RockChucker single stage but easily handles any handgun and most rifle cartridges. I load 9mm - .44 mag and .223 - .30-06.

Most turret presses can be operated as a single stage so you can have that simplicity when you want it. But, if you want to crank out 200-400 rds for the upcoming weekend the turret makes it much easier.