The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 20, 2013, 09:12 AM   #1
rebs

which auto powder dispenser ?

I am looking at the one by RCBS and the one by Hornady, do you guys have any preference to either one ? The good and not so good about each ?
Old October 20, 2013, 09:53 AM   #2
Brutus

Sorry, Balance beam scale and a trickle charger is the only way to go IMO.
I never trust something electronic as I tried an RCBS digital scale, worked fine for about a year then started giving me bad readings. Thank God I always double checked with my 35 year old balance beam. Keep meaning to send it back to RCBS but I'd always be suspicious of it.
Old October 20, 2013, 10:10 AM   #3
swmike

Of the two, buy the RCBS and don't look back. I've been using one for over 6 years and couldn't be happier. Only thing I found necessary was to a) turn it on well before you start measuring out charges. Give it time to warm up. b) wipe all plastic surfaces down well with a dryer sheet to control static.

Since I use mine so much I just leave it turned on 24/7/365 (unless the power goes down and I have to turn it back on).

There are various posts on the net telling how to "soup up" the RCBS by controlling the three speed stages. Helps cut the overall time needed for Fast, Medium, and Trickle phases.

I can load a box of 50 in 30 minutes. Drop charge, pour in case, place pan back on scale, seat bullet, measure, put in box, repeat. The next charge is sitting on the scale ready for the next sequence.

Drops nice even charges that are within .1 gr when checked on a beam scale (tuned). If you want closer charges then just transfer the auto dropped charge to the beam scale and trickle to the exact amount.

Personally I don't find that the minute differences have any effect on my .308 loads that measure down in the single digit SD's and ES.

"In God we trust, all others are suspects."