The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 27, 2006, 01:40 AM   #1
glockopop

I've hit a few bumps in the road...

I've got a Lee Handpress, and I'm learning how to use it. For example, right when I first got it I sized and deprimed a couple hundred cases and then last night realized that I had done it completely wrong. I've just got a few newbie questions. How do you align the bullet in the case mouth before seating it? How much do I need to bell out the case mouth before seating the bullet? What is the proper technique to using a dial caliper (tight around the cartridge, just snug, etc.)? Is there anything I need to be measuring other than OAL and charge weights? Any other insights and advice for a total novice would be greatly useful. BTW, load I'm (going to be) using is 5.0gr. of VV N320, Winchester primers, Winchester once-fired brass, 200gr. Shooters Connection LSWC, 1.250 OAL in a Wilson 1911.
Old September 27, 2006, 01:45 AM   #2
tINY

Get a reloading manual with a tutorial - it's well worth it.

-tINY

Old September 27, 2006, 07:20 AM   #3
BigO01

I would strongly suggest that you at least get this Lee kit that comes with a reloading manual .

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpag...eitemid=820810

Add a set of dies and with shipping it will be the best $120-130 you will ever spend to reload .

If bench space is limited go to a hardware store and buy a small work stand/bench , that is what I did and my reloading setup is very compact and benches like this are about $30 .

Mine is similar to this http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...125&lpage=none
Old September 27, 2006, 08:33 AM   #4
Alakar

I'm a newbie too, and I would highly recommend this manual:

http://www.amazon.com/ABCs-Reloading...e=UTF8&s=books

It has tons of info, is laid out in a logical manner and has lots of pictures to go with the info described.
Old September 27, 2006, 10:15 AM   #5
cpaspr