View Full Version : Star Model B - German Army Contract, Need Some Info

April 21, 2012, 12:31 AM
Hi all, I'm in the process of buying a Star Model B, it is supposed to be a GI bring back. I know that there are some fake ones out there, so I'm trying to find out if this one is an original. The guns SN is 239XXX with Waffenamt marks of WaA251.

Any info or comments would be great!

Thanks so much!!!!


April 21, 2012, 09:43 AM
Your serial number falls within the known range of Nazi contract guns, so I will presume that it is legit.

I think the phony ones were a bunch that originated in Bulgaria and had fake Waffenamts applied.

April 21, 2012, 10:10 AM
Thanks so much! I've also been informed that this gun maybe part of the Bulgarian Contract, here's the link:


The previous owner said he got it from an old vet, just don't know.

My dad used to have a Model B, that he brought back after the war (he was in the Italian Campaign) but someone stole it years ago. So I know his was a legit one. Been trying to "replace" it in his memory. So I'm just trying to get to the bottom on this one.

Thanks again!!!! Anyone else?

All the best!


April 21, 2012, 11:06 AM
The previous owner said he got it from an old vet, just don't know.

Take those stories with a huge grain of salt. Many years ago, I was offered what was supposed to be a Persian marked Mauser broomhandle. The seller swore he got it from "an old man who got it in North Africa in WWII." At the time, I had no resources to determine if it was authentic, and I bought it. Luckily, the price I paid was not out of line for even a run of the mill broomhandle, so I didn't get hurt too badly.

It turns out that the Persian contract fell within a very specific serial number range, and this broom was a complete and total fake, albeit extremely well done.

Moral? Believe nothing you hear and only half of what you see.

James K
April 21, 2012, 12:00 PM
A very good closeup picture of the WaA stamp might help determine if it is legit.


April 22, 2012, 08:56 AM
http://star-firearms.com/ is a reference for Star.

April 23, 2012, 06:41 AM
Thanks all for the great info!!!!