PDA

View Full Version : Considering a Kimber Ultra Carry II

Sobski
March 16, 2012, 12:20 PM
Good day everyone. I'm a little bit nervous about my first thread here on TFL after reading the recent announcement but I'll give it a go anyway:

I'm fairly new to handguns/firearms but have found that I really like 1911s. I was hoping to get some opinions on what would be a reasonable price for a lightly used Kimber Ultra Carry II chambered in 9mm. I know the seller so I am comfortable with the fact that it is used but I am not sure at all how much handguns depreciate in value if you will.

Any thoughts on a reasonable price or about other options would be appreciated.

BDM 9MM
March 16, 2012, 02:41 PM
Hi - I own a Kimber Ultra Carry II, 9MM and it has been a fine pistol so far. Mine is SS and I purchased new for $925.00. I have seen used ones (Used +- 500 rds) selling for around $800.00 in my area. I have about 2,000 rounds downrange so far with no problems. It is a fine pistol and I like everything about it - except for the goofy paper clip takedown procedure. Good luck, Dan

3kgt2nv
March 16, 2012, 02:42 PM
for the price of a kimber i would get a springfield. with kimber your buying the name and a history of feeding / extracting issues.

KC Rob
March 16, 2012, 05:15 PM
I don't own an Ultra Carry but I do own two Kimber Pro Carry's and neither has the aforementioned "history of feeding / extracting issues". I do think that the smaller 3" 1911's can be finicky, in fact the only 1911 I own that has ever given me any extraction problems is a Springfield Micro Compact.

djcantr
March 16, 2012, 05:29 PM
I have an Ultra Carry II. I've had issues with it. It's currently with Kimber right now and they're replacing the frame as it cracked after owning it for three months. If I could go back in time I would have selected another pistol in place of the Ultra Carry II.

Friar Whently
March 16, 2012, 07:34 PM