PDA

View Full Version : 1911 noob q's

zachkuby87
September 18, 2011, 05:59 PM
Hey guys so I am completely new to 1911's and rather than go buy a 1000$+ gun and just shoot it I decided I want to buy a cheaper 1911. Shoot it and modify it over time to fit my needs. I'm not looking to build an amazing tack driver this gun is purely for the knowledge and learning experience of inner workings and the science of building a bad ass 1911. I plan to attempt to refinish the gun a some point. I was wondering what you would start with I'm looking to keep the cost of the gun itself under 500 dollars. Thisis the gun I've been eyeballing for the last few days any opinions?http://www.rsrgroup.com/catalog/product/ARM51438FC

Or what would you use?

Mrgunsngear
September 18, 2011, 06:13 PM
http://centerfiresystems.com/AC-RI1911-2011.aspx

I'd go with the above gun. Any Armscor 1911 will suit your needs. They're good firearms with solid frames and slides. The only knock the aficionados will give you is the MIM parts but if you're going to use it for a build, who cares? The reason I'm voting for the railed version is it just gives you extra options. That's just my line of thinking but I know it's not popular with some around here...:p

zachkuby87
September 18, 2011, 06:30 PM
Yeah I'm not such a big fan of railed 1911's it just doesn't do such a good looking classic gun any justice imo I have plenty of pistols with rails and I only own 1 laser that I used once took it off and put it away. Though I have been coming around to the full railed 1911's they don't look so bad I've only seen a couple though and they were fully custom guns. Nvm I didn't think that was a full rail lol I posted a reply before I checked your link. I did not know one could be had for that cheap I guess I have some thinking to do. I thought it was gonna look like the railed taurus's whicht look like ****.

Jason_G
September 18, 2011, 06:50 PM
Shoot it and modify it over time to fit my needs.