PDA

View Full Version : How's the Ruger SR9c?

SRT2
September 16, 2011, 01:26 AM
How's the Ruger SR9c? Watched a youtube by hickok45 and it
looked good. Anybody have one?

predecessor
September 16, 2011, 01:40 AM
For the price tag, it's a nice little gun. But for me, there are many other pistols in it's class that I prefer.

Adamantium
September 16, 2011, 01:41 AM
I got one for CCW and like it alot. I'm not recommending it over the other Glock, S&W or Springfield sub-compact double stack 9mm's though because I've got no experience with them. But it seems doubtful I'll ever go out of my way to hold one because I am very happy with the SR9c.

I will say I do like the grip extender for the 17 round magazine. It goes on the Magazine so there is nothing to install/uninstall and it makes it compatible with SR9 magazines (basically there is no dedicated 17 round magazine for the SR9c, it just uses its bigger brother).

Also comparing it to my wife Taurus Slim 9mm, the size difference is very small, but the grip fits the hand much better.

I have also been very impressed with the sights, not only are they well sized, but they are both fully adjustable and have nothing on the rear sight to catch on clothing beyond what fixed sights have.

Hope it helps.

BigBrute
September 16, 2011, 01:57 AM
They are supposed to be very good overall. I know they feel good in the hand and have a nice trigger. There have been reports of peening issues, at least from some users, but I believe those problems have been dealt with in more recent models. Otherwise it's a good gun, should be very reliable, and has a pretty fair price tag from what I've seen

AZAK
September 16, 2011, 02:23 AM
Look here:

http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=462449

LordTio3
September 16, 2011, 11:36 AM