PDA

View Full Version : .380 ACP or 9x18 Makarov?

Big Tom
September 11, 2011, 02:47 PM
Ok so I posted yesterday about the new .32 I am getting to carry at work. I am kinda new to cc and the only bigger caliber handguns I own are not really suited for cc. My Ruger P95 is my bed stand gun and probably my fav. I find that the 9mm guns in sizes I like are too big (I do not like the Kel tec 9mm's) and glocks are too expensive. Sure would love the Khar CW9.... I am not able to afford more than something around $300. I have seen several Makarovs to my liking and to be honest I think they are totally cool. I went on Goldenloki and saw that somehow or another the .380 HP's did more damage than 9X18's? I know the 9x18's were made to use FMJ's since they were military but even still since the caliber is supposedly stronger I thought it would be better on the whole. I was hoping for a bit more umph than .380 for a main carry weapon. Are the Hornady FTX's good in the 9X18? Or should I just get a Bersa like my dad? Dunno, I need help from those who know more about these kinds of guns.

Mercenary
September 11, 2011, 02:59 PM
I noticed that you said you liked the Kahr CW9. www.jetguns.com has them for $382. I know you said your budget was only $300. But if you could save another month or two and get what you want, it's better than settling for something else just because its cheaper. Trust me, I've been down that road and in less than 3 months you'll be kicking yourself in the rear.

Big Tom
September 11, 2011, 03:05 PM
Thanks Mercenary, I am gonna take a look at it. My think is that the Polish P64 is appealing even with the cons. At less than $200 it is very attractive. Of course I would have to add new springs to the gun.....then again the Khar has a lifetime warranty I presume? And 2 extra more powerful and easy to find rounds. Hmmmmm this is a hard one. But 9mm I would say is my fav handgun caliber overall.

wnycollector
September 11, 2011, 03:36 PM