PDA

View Full Version : Need buy advice for a Wonder Nine

Eilig
September 7, 2011, 07:33 AM
Greetings everyone,

As topic says I am on the look for a Wonder Nine. My only previous handgun experience was with a Walter GSP .22 I sold years ago so a 9mm is obviously a step up. I haven't browsed gun forums or read any gun magazines before so I am no expert but also not a complete tool.

I actually wanted to buy a 92 F/S since I am familiar with it from movies etc and it looks nice but a friend of mine who was in the service said it is a piece of ****.

Others guns I have on my list:

Glock 17 or 19
Sig Sauer 226
Browing Hi-Power
CZ 75
Walther P99

I didn't put any H&K on the list as I intend to get a H&K .45 at a later stage.

Quality, craftmanship, accuracy and ergonomics are important for me, price is secondary. I would also like to point out I have fairly small hands so my preference is towards something smaller and lighter.

Which one would you recommend me? I will also consider something that is not on the list like a US gun.

Thanks!

Leejack
September 7, 2011, 07:51 AM
First, welcome to the forum.

To address your buddy's comment, I can assure you his opinion is in the minority.

This forum will yield you many opinions, as a matter of fact, your shopping list is right up the alley of many of our members.

A gun that meets your needs and desires is a personal choice, there are many good ones to choose from. Try out as many as you can and go with what you like, that's all that really matters.

OcSpeed
September 7, 2011, 08:05 AM
I think the Glock 19 is pretty legendary, I have medium hands/build and it fits me like a glove and is easy to conceal. Since you said price is secondary if it doesn't fit you there's a bunch of companies that will do grip reductions.

pilpens
September 7, 2011, 08:07 AM
Sig Sauer 226 or Walther P99 and leaning towards the P99 for small hands. Both pistols are good, just pick the one that fits you best.
============