PDA

View Full Version : Which AK?

jbcricket
December 31, 2010, 11:28 AM
i'm thinking of getting an AK-47 and was wondering what everyone's opinions were on which would be the best version. I have been considering ewbank polymer and also the saiga conversion. Anyone have experience with these?

SR420
December 31, 2010, 11:35 AM
I have no 1st hand experience with the ewbank polymer or the saiga conversion, but I have plenty of experience with Norinco and Poly Tech AKMs and MAC-90s.

The Chinese make one of the finest AKMs available, but they haven't been imported for many years. Fear not, they can be found on the secondary market at fair prices.

Good luck.

hank327
December 31, 2010, 12:47 PM
The best current AKs are the SGL versions of the Saiga imported by K-Var.
The SGL-21 in 7.62 x 39mm and the SGL-31 in 5.45 x 39mm are manufactured in the same factory that makes the military versions for the Russian army. The SGLs are the only new AKs currently available with both new factory receivers and new factory hammer forged chrome lined barrels.

I've had a SGL-21 for just over a year and it's been great. Here's a few links that you might find helpful:

SGL21: http://www.k-var.com/shop/home.php?cat=353

SGL31: http://www.k-var.com/shop/home.php?cat=354

A video of the SGL: http://www.youtube.com/user/hickok45#p/c/E6009D66302BA9D7/24/TPhkDMng-68

MosinM38
December 31, 2010, 01:06 PM
Arsenal has a good reputation.

However I've decided two things.
#1. As long as I personally inspect and examine lower grade AK's, I seem to do okay.

#2. If I do spend $800 on an AK. I think I'll go with one of the custom-making AK gunsmiths. Arizona Response, Red Jackets,etc. are only about $75-100 more than Arsenals, and I think they're worth it.

It's a thought anyways.

jbcricket
December 31, 2010, 03:00 PM
hank327,

Thanks for the websites, those SGL-21's look like they're right up my alley!
What do you guys think about the stamped vs milled reciever issue?

a7mmnut