PDA

View Full Version : Another AR question

Hog Hunter
December 23, 2010, 02:10 PM
Once again I am new to the AR and have alot of questions about it. With it on layaway and not recived yet im trying to figure out as much as posible about this rifle as I can.

First, whats the differance and advantages to the free floatin handgurad and the drop in. Is it like on any other rifle and just gives more room for the barrel to flex when fired??

Second, lets say I find someone that has a 4 rail handguard that I like but its for a AR-15. Will it fit on my AR-10 and be flat all the way across the top??

Third, if you cant tell I am purchasing an armalite AR-10. The rifle dose not have the 4 rail handguard on it like I want. It just has like a dust cover looking handguard. If you have a 4 rial for sale pm me please. Again, thanks for the help, and ill prolly have a thousand more questions when I get the rifle so try to bear with me on this. THANKS!!

Brenten
December 23, 2010, 02:15 PM
Free float rails have the attachment point at the receiver. The regular guard attaches at the base and to the barrel at the gas block. This interferes and affects the barrels accuracy. By going to a freefloat rail, your barrel is free to do the work it's supposed to. Is it necessary? no, AR's are very accurate out of the box. I would get one of the rails Armalite sells on their site. It is a good deal and works well.

madcratebuilder
December 24, 2010, 07:41 AM
First, whats the differance and advantages to the free floatin handgurad and the drop in. Is it like on any other rifle and just gives more room for the barrel to flex when fired??

A floated HG allows the barrel to free float, a drop in can transfer pressure to the barrel if you use a sling when shooting or even from a bi pod. Unless you are working at getting that last 1/4moa with a long range rifle I would not worry about it.