PDA

View Full Version : New to Rifle shooting

pacerdude
May 9, 2010, 09:38 PM
Background: I am a handgun shooter in my 20's with zero rifle experience. However, I am unable to fire any gun with a large amount of recoil due to my pacemaker :(. A large amount of recoil could at best tear open my scars and at worst damage the pacemakers connection to my heart :eek:.

I was browsing my local Wal-Mart this evening to pick up some Hoppes #9 and Rem-oil, and glanced over at the rifle/shotgun case.

I noticed a Marlin .22lr semi-auto rifle for about $160 and a Mossberg .22lr bolt action rifle for about $120. I figured that these were pretty good prices for some decent starting rifles?

Anyway I am used to shooting handguns, but wanted to get a solid .22 rifle for target practice, and occasional varmint control. I realize that neither of these are high end rifles, but I am a college student without a whole lot of extra cash.

I already have a solid pistol for protection, so that is not a major concern. So out of the two what would you all suggest?

Thanks in advance!

10-96
May 9, 2010, 09:49 PM
Unless they have changed things up- the Marlin 60 has been a darn good little rifle for the past 30-40 years. Have you checked area pawn shops and such? Go with the 60- and look around a bit, you can find good used rifles that will leave a little $$ in your pocket for ammo, a rifle case, and more targets and such. Good luck and have fun!

pacerdude
May 9, 2010, 09:57 PM
Thanks for the idea about checking pawn shops and if there are other guns or calibers that are reasonably priced and have low recoil then I am all up for suggestions! Like I said I don't know alot about rifles or the calibers they come in.:o

Bamashooter
May 9, 2010, 10:05 PM
the mossberg is a good shooting rifle but is very cheaply made. if i were you i would get the marlin, or add another hundred to it and get one of the best ever. ruger 10/22.

Catfish25p2000
May 9, 2010, 10:07 PM