PDA

View Full Version : Advice for 'budget' .308 bolt rifle

bvmd73
April 21, 2010, 12:23 AM
So I've finally decided to buy my first bolt action rifle. After filling my gun safe with handguns galore, it's time to expand my rifle collection. I'm looking for a .308 rifle to target shoot with. No hunting for me. I'm brand new to these type of rifles and the .308 caliber. I know that ammo is expensive as well as optics so my budget right now is not much for the rifle itself. From what I've read, here are some choices for a brand new rifle that is around $300-400.

1. Howa 1500
2. Weatherby Vanguard
3. Marlin XS7
4. Stevens 200
5. Savage Edge

I know that Remington, Tikka, FN and Savage (accutrigger) are about $100-200 more. I'd like to save that money for ammo or optics. Or do you think that a used Remy or Savage for $400 is worth it?

Are there any pros or cons with the above choices? Any other options I'm missing?

thanks in advance

kenno
April 21, 2010, 12:57 AM
Marlin or Howa are the 2 best in that list; better one of them new than a used rifle. buy a picatinny rail mount for the scope, buy the best quality 40mm or larger objective scope you can afford, even if it is a lower power with out bells and whistles, the light gathering ability of a scope is vital in low light.

javven
April 21, 2010, 01:20 AM
There are several versions of the 700 that can be had reasonably.

Scorch
April 21, 2010, 01:45 AM
Howa 1500, absolutely no questions about it. The Weatherby Vanguard is essentially the same rifle.

TDK
April 21, 2010, 01:49 AM
If you are located in teh south by an Academy Sports and Outdoors they have Remington 700ADL for $349.99. cant beat that.

Other than that look at Savage or Howa. bTW the Weatherby vanguard action is made by Howa, they are essentially the same gun.

Abel
April 21, 2010, 05:35 AM