PDA

View Full Version : ithaca/skb 900


horsemaneast
April 14, 2009, 08:07 PM
i have a problem with my 900 in that, it doesn't want to eject/load standard
2 3/4 loads (20 ga) . i shot a couple of hi-brass loads and some 3 inchers in it
a few days ago and it cycled fine. afterward, i put a couple of field loads thru
it and it kicked out 3 in a row. now it won't eject and load them. is there
something about shooting a more powerful load that "sets" the spring ?
is there anything i can do about the spring to lighten it so it shoots reg. loads ? btw , i'm shooting reloads but, they're 1155 fps so should work. they
do in my other guns. i've tried turning the washer over but no help.
i've already seen lots of helpful info here , i feel sure someone has the answer.

thanks a bunch

bigbird34
April 17, 2009, 05:36 PM
I own a SKB 900XL in 20ga,it will shoot low and high brass with an adjustment under thr forearm(slotted screw type device ,hard to explain) the 900 ,"i believe" will only shoot high or low brass,it was not designed to shoot both .....It's been awhile a looked at the brochures for this shotguns,but I believe that's the difference ,between the two models,the 12 ga's would only shoot ,highs,or lows,but not both .....Jim

horsemaneast
April 17, 2009, 08:35 PM
thanks for the info BigBird , i did get it to shoot some factory low-brass loads
the other day. i just can't get it to shoot my reloads. i'm checking my recipe
next to see if my loads are not hot enough to cycle. the gun is pretty good
looking but, i don't think i'll keep it. it's the first recoil operated gun i've owned. the barrel does say 3 inch chamber but, i thought i could turn the
washer over and get a different reaction. nope, didn't work any better.
maybe i'll stick to gas operated actions.