PDA

View Full Version : Rugers "Loose"?

baugh009
November 14, 2007, 09:32 PM
I am new to this thread, and in the market for a new .45 automatic. My budget does not reach the Sig and Springfield level.

When I went into my local gun shop I first look at a Ruger KP 345. The sales guy (whom I think knowledgeable and honest), pointed me to a Smith "M&P" which was in the same price bracket, saying that I considered the Ruger models (in this price bracket), not made to close tolerances.

If any of you have had experience with both weapons (or, at least a Ruger in the same price range and the M&P), I would very much appreciate your input on this matter.

Thanks.

GoGo
November 14, 2007, 10:08 PM
I have a discontinued Ruger P97dc .45. When I engage the slide and its ready for fire , its rattley. But still pretty accurate and a workhorse.

When the slide and trigger is not engaged its not rattely. :confused:

Actually thats what is keeping me from buying another Ruger semi auto.

I have no problems with the revolvers, sweet.:D

I have 2 Sigmas and the M&P seems overpriced to me. My cheap Sigmas have been workhorses.

mbott
November 14, 2007, 10:37 PM
As one who has owned 2 P95s, 2 P97s and 1 P345, "loose" is not anything I've ever used to describe any on my Rugers.

--
Mike

bigghoss
November 14, 2007, 10:48 PM
I own a 345 and have shot a M&P .40. I like my 345 alot but if you aren't partial to either I'd go for the M&P. customizeable grips and holds 2 more rounds.

however I own the 345 and a p95 and they are definatly quality firearms.

GoGo
November 15, 2007, 01:03 AM
My p97DC isn't loose, just rattles when locked and loaded. It doesn't rattle when its not "ready for fire".
Its trustworthy and dependable, but none of my other pistols rattle like it, Springfield, S&W, Beretta.

Don't get me wrong, I dig the p97Dc, its a workhorse and will feed almost anything. I'll never get rid of it. I just think I'll stick to Ruger for their revolvers.