PDA

View Full Version : Winnies

weed
July 19, 2007, 01:36 PM
What"s wrong with them? Nobody seems to use them any more;
for target shooting or beach rest or even suggest them for much
other than wall hangers.I have a new modle 70 that shoots pertty
well out of the box.I bought this LHR Loredo 300 second hand.
Kevin

pesta2
July 19, 2007, 02:04 PM
Becasue they are not being manufactured anymore.

essexcounty
July 20, 2007, 02:32 PM
Absolutely nothing wrong! I have some experience with a couple of pre 64's, but more with the new models. I have a 770 in '06 that is a great shooter. A 1964 Vintage ( before the G prefix ) that's as practical as all get out and has suprised the owners of more refinded arms. It has scrapes, scratches and bluing wear. However it's as practical now as it was back when I was In High School. Keep them shooting. Essex

Rembrandt
July 20, 2007, 03:26 PM
...Nobody seems to use them any more;
for target shooting or beach rest or even suggest them for much
other than wall hangers.

Winchester hasn't made a target gun for nearly 25 years. Since management saw no profitable interest in making target guns, other companies siezed the opportunity to take those customers. Model 52 target guns were the ones to beat for nearly 70 years.

If you want to be known for accurate rifles, you need to offer equipment for the serious competitor.

mudstud
July 20, 2007, 07:25 PM
Weed,
You need to start hanging around with a different class of people! :D I don't much care about target shooting or bench rest shooting, except as how it relates to my HUNTING rifles. The Model 70 has always been primarily a hunter's rifle. This was true for the famed pre-64, and the recently discontinued Model 70 Classic as well. Serious hunters and DG hunters often have a preference for a CRF action, and the appropriate Model 70's often find favor.