PDA

View Full Version : Rem 700 Purchase Question

Vassili81
July 11, 2007, 08:55 PM
As some of you may know I am new to the scene but looking for a good quality starter rifle and have been looking into the rem 700. I found this one but not sure how to go about figuring out what is a good deal. What do you guys think of this one?

http://froogle.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.asp?Item=75624407

Trapper L
July 11, 2007, 09:38 PM
FWIW, I bought the same rifle in 223 from Cabelas about 8 months ago for $299.00 on special minus the scope and mounts. The scope might bring $200.00. In my opinion, it's grossly overpriced. I looked at a Remington, used, BDL Varminter which means it was a wood stock and heavy barrel, with scope (I'm not sure but I think it was a 3-9 Leopold) in 22-250. The setup was very clean- clean enough to appear unfired before close inspection. The asking price was $649.00 and knowing the gunshop, there was room for them to deal 50-75.00. I'm usually one that the weapon has to look and function near new or I won't give it a second look. This one almost came home but I need another one like I need the wrong numbers to the lottery. If you have the interest, the gunshop name is Durys in San Antonio. They have a website but they don't list all of their guns as they have several hundred used guns. They also sell guns at online auctions.
http://www.durysguns.com/html/inventory/inventory.html#inventory

Hope this was helpful.

Vassili81
July 11, 2007, 09:42 PM
Thanks for the reply. Ive been looking to find a 700 SPS .223 and was planning on getting a leupold scope. How much should I expect to find the rifle itself brand new?

laxpatrick
July 11, 2007, 10:29 PM