PDA

View Full Version : Which AR-15????

CWG
July 9, 2007, 01:37 AM
I'm looking into getting an AR-15...well...an M4 with a detachable handle. Isn't the only difference between the M4 and AR the barrel and handguard? In other words the upper and lowers are regular AR-15 uppers and lowers? Anyways, I'm looking into four brands...Stag Arms, Rock River Arms, Olympic Arms and DPMS. I've heard great things about all of them and can get the same thing from all of them for almost the same exact price. $785-$800 Here's a picture of the DPMS I'm looking into...
http://rguns.net/009/009_5_m4dpms_hr.jpg
...Any thoughts? I noticed you don't really save a whole lot building one yourself.

Yithian
July 9, 2007, 01:48 AM
I'm not that experienced with AR-15's but if thats what I think it is, you are going to hate that gas-block front sight.
You can't place a scope on the rifle without it ruining any low-light situations.

If it costs the same to build as buy, just buy the flattop and folding front and rear sights.
It could be a shorter sight plain, but so is the one in your reference pic.

Or you could buy what you can afford and upgrade as-you-go.

My $0.02.

timothy75
July 9, 2007, 01:51 AM
Those are all good quality, I'd buy the first one you find. Make sure you have a chrome liined 5.56 chamber though.

BUSTER51
July 9, 2007, 10:00 AM
Stag is the cream of that crop,with RRA so close you may not tell the diff. Dmps and Oly are just so so . Stag may very well be the bigest bang for the buck in an AR at this time .B4 you buy do some lurking over at AR15.com and check the EE for a good price when you figure what you want . have you ever considered buying a assembled upper and an assembled lower ? you can get exactly what you want without comprimise that way .

RockyMtnTactical
July 9, 2007, 01:03 PM
Stag is by far the best value among AR-15's, no matter who you match them up against. If you're on a budget, get a Stag! ;)

dustinlowery
July 9, 2007, 07:20 PM