PDA

View Full Version : Martini Enfield

w_houle
July 6, 2007, 11:54 PM
I am looking to buy a martini enfield in .303 for $475, when the store owner heard of my intention to shoot it se mentioned something about shooting BP instead of "Modern" ammunition, it sounds like crap to me. According to my wikifacts (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.303_British) the chamber pressure for the more modern cordite is lower than BP

w_houle
July 7, 2007, 12:23 AM
Oh yeah, and while I am thinking of it, is this a firing gun or just a neat wall hanger incapable of sending lead downrange?

RedneckFur
July 7, 2007, 12:28 AM
I'm no Enfield expert, but I know some of the older ones used a different type of rifling. Rounded lands instead of squared. It had problems using the more modern types of ammo. I'd check the barrel to see what sort of rifling it had.

I know there are several grades of .303 ammo too. The newer stuff is higher velocity than the older ammo. That might also have some effect on how it performs in that rifle, if its safe to use in that rifle at all.

But assuming the rifle is in good working order, I'm sure you can hand load rounds to the older spec's and enjoy shooting it.

w_houle
July 7, 2007, 12:42 AM
It almost looked like a polygon barrel, so I think they were round and I had a hard time keeping a reference in the barrel so I couldn't figure out how many lands and grooves were rifled, but IIRC I would almost say there were five, which just sounds odd because I was expecting four or six

w_houle
July 7, 2007, 11:43 AM
Started poking around the internet and found out that the rifle in question is a Khyber Pass copy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Khyber_Pass_Copy) and their take on it is they all are dangerous with even the lightest loads, and so it goes... to someone else!

Jim Watson
July 7, 2007, 11:51 AM