PDA

View Full Version : Ruger M-77 .243 help!

pjn003
July 1, 2007, 12:12 AM
Hey guys, i recently purchased a new ruger m-77 .243 caliber and i just took it out to the shooting range for the first time today. I was shooting remington express cartriges, and my gun was literally all over the place. The grouping was terrible, do you think that this may have something to do with my ammo? Anyone have any reccomendations?

Possibly, as this is my first time owning a new rifle, is there any process you have to do to break it in? I odviously cleaned the gun before shooting it, but anything besides that? I'm really dissaspointed in this guns preformance.

Thanks

Scorch
July 1, 2007, 12:25 AM
First, get a good screwdriver set, loosen the guard screws on the rifle, put the rifle with the buttstock on a solid surface, and retighten the front guard screw tight, then the middle and rear screws snug. Tighten the scope ring screws tight, both the screws that hold the rings to the receiver, and the screws that hold the scope in place. Next, clean the rifle really well, using a bronze bore brush and solvent, then punch the bore with a patch on a jag. Take the rifle back to the range and fire a group from a bench and measure the groups center to center. Most factory rifles will shoot beter when they are clean and everything is tight.

pjn003
July 1, 2007, 12:52 AM
anything about the type of ammo?

intruder
July 1, 2007, 01:22 AM
Are your scope mounts tight ? Did you degrease them before putting the scope on? Did you clean the rifle before firing it? If you check all these things try a different brand of ammo.

Fremmer
July 1, 2007, 01:28 AM
Start with making sure the scope is right. Then try a couple of different brands of ammo and see how it shoots with that.

mathman
July 1, 2007, 10:47 AM
I had a Ruger M77 in 308 and it had the exact same problem...so I got rid of it and bought a Remington and never looked back. That was the best thing to do for me.

Texas_XD