PDA

View Full Version : My first rifle?

physics12398
May 29, 2007, 02:46 PM
Hey Everyone,

I'm new to the forum. I've been shooting since I was a kid and am thinking about buying my own rifle. I've shot hundreds of .22LR rounds so I'm not really interested in that caliber and I've shot up to .30-06 (an uncle's lever action) which I had no fun with. I wa thinking of .223 and wanted your opinions on what to get. I'm only looking for a rifle to take to the shooting range (I'm not a hunter). Being that I am in college I am on a pretty serious budget. I was thinking Olympic Arms' Plinker Plus AR15 which would be at the top of my price range. What do you guys thinks?

taylorce1
May 29, 2007, 03:29 PM
A .223 would be a great round to go to as you step up to a center fire cartridge. If you want an AR style rifle then go for it I have no experience with RRA. My only other advice is you can find a decent bolt rifle for less money and have more left over to by ammunition.

Manedwolf
May 29, 2007, 03:37 PM
Saiga .223, $259.

Can't go wrong there, plus if you want to later, you can rebuild it into a "real" AK-101. It's a real Russian Kalashnikov for that price, durable as rock, accurate, and with a chromelined barrel. You'd get an inexpensive rifle that could be modified into an "investment", you'd shoot .223 and you'd learn the operation and fieldstripping of an AK. In the configuration they come in, they have a sporter stock and a forward handguard that hides the distinctive AK gas tube, making them look less "dangerous" and more like a hunting or target piece.

I love mine.

The only advantage to an AR platform, IMO, is that you can install the Ciener $120 .22LR conversion and shoot 22LR all day for cheap.

physics12398
May 29, 2007, 03:44 PM
About the Saiga, if I were to buy one and then make the upgrades you said to turn it into an AK 101 how much wouls that be. I'm pretty much looking for any semi-auto .223 that is accurate to about 2" at 100 yds.

Manedwolf