PDA

View Full Version : Two Stage Trigger a Must-Have?

zenner22
May 19, 2007, 09:47 AM
I'm new to AR's and am shopping around. My local shop is pushing the Rock River line heavily, especially the 2 stage trigger. A friend who is similarly new to AR's was at the shop and he dry fired a Bushmaster and a Rock River. Said the two triggers were like night and day. When he purchases an AR now he said he wouldn't even think of getting one without a 2 stage trigger.

Question: Are the 2 Stage triggers really that good? Are they worth the extra $100? I don't hear many people complain about the Bushmaster's basic trigger, but maybe I'm not listening close enough.

Are the 2 Stage triggers a Must-Have or will the single stage trigger do just fine?

Art Eatman
May 19, 2007, 09:58 AM
One-stage or two-stage: It. Doesn't. Matter.

All that matters is that the trigger doesn't have a lot of creep in the final pull, and that it breaks cleanly. The military two-stage is easy to get used to: Take up the slack; pull. The "normal" trigger is easy to get used to. It's not even difficult to go back and forth, assuming that the shooter can tell the difference between two rifles. :D

Unless somebody has some sort of serious Jones for one type over the other, there ain't a nickel's worth of practical difference between them.

Art

FirstFreedom
May 19, 2007, 10:03 AM
One-stage or two-stage: It. Doesn't. Matter.

As the Fonz used to say, Exactamundo! :)

MacGille
May 19, 2007, 10:09 AM
The military uses 2 stage triggers because their rifles are handled constantly. Getting into or out of vehicles, in chow lines,moving out,etc. A 2 stage trigger is less likely to be pulled accidentally. As far as shooting if the second stage is crisp, there should be no difference. In my opinion, I find that a single stage trigger that is well set up is preferable.

DonR101395
May 19, 2007, 10:10 AM