PDA

View Full Version : Please help Identify ?Carcano? Rifle

SteveDave
May 18, 2007, 08:59 AM
Hello, Please help me identify this rifle. I believe it to be some sort of a Carcano but am unsure which model. I'd also like to know what kind of ammo to use (the ammo store told me that there were several different types of 6.5mm shells) and I want to make sure I use the correct stripper clip (I believe it to hold 6 rounds. The closest pictures I can find were of a 'Carbine 6.5 mm M 91' and a 'Carbine Youth Model (Moschetto Ballila) 6.5 mm' but there are small differences in mine than in the pictures I have found of each. Maybe someone can help me out with this also, I have tried a 6 round stripper clip but it does not go down all the way, it sticks up about one shell too high, am I doing something wrong here? I guess it's obvious I'm a novice but would like not to be in the future. Here are a few pictures, I'm sure they should help. I look forward to your replies. Thank you in advance,
Steve
PS - The numbers on the butt of the gun read: SU 9572 and also are right behind the middle sight and "CAL. 6.5" in front of it. On the handle of the bolt, there is an "AB" in a circle, I have no idea what any of these numbers mean but would like to. Also, if you can help me locate a correct bayonet and a shoulder strap for it and the tools/directions to clean it properly. If more pictures are needed just ask where to aim the camera and I'll get them to you asap. Thanks again.

jrfoxx
May 18, 2007, 09:52 AM