PDA

View Full Version : Pressure Switch Mounting


HankL
February 1, 2006, 10:52 AM
Could anyone here please elaborate on how military and police
armorers attach pressure switches for accessories to composite
stocks?

cntryboy1289
February 1, 2006, 03:16 PM
The simplest method is to use velcro wrapped around the attachment point. I have seen some even use tape as well.

Lazy D
February 1, 2006, 03:45 PM
A bike tire innertube is great. Take an innertube and cut a cross section the length you need to cover up the switch. Stretch it out as you slip it over the barrel, sight and onto the handguards in the case of an AR-15. It will hold much tighter than velcro.
Good Luck

fishcapt007
February 1, 2006, 05:21 PM
Heat Shrink!

HankL
February 2, 2006, 09:41 AM
A few questions if I may.

cntryboy1289, Are you wrapping the attachment points with the type of
velcro that sticks to itself and attaching the proper type of velcro to the
switch in some manner?

Lazy D, Once you install these innertube bands over the switch doesn't the
pressure turn the switch on?

fishcapt007, If you were to use heat shrink you would either have to cut it
off or remove the light/lazer from the firearm at every battery change.

Lazy D
February 2, 2006, 11:49 AM
It isn't enough pressure to activate it. Don't use one made for a 10 speed:)
Maybe something like a BMX bike.

HankL
February 2, 2006, 12:08 PM
Gotcha, Thanks.

cntryboy1289
February 2, 2006, 12:17 PM
yes, I use the kind that sticks to itself. All it takes is one wrap around and it holds the pressure switch in position and you can easily activate it.

HankL
February 2, 2006, 04:55 PM
Thank you sir.