PDA

View Full Version : Not another AK47/.223/bushmaster/Ar15 thread!

#18indycolts
January 31, 2006, 12:06 AM
I'm usually in the handgun threads but wanted to post here. I'm not a cheap person but am looking at a romanian made AK for $400 (with a bunch of goodies) and looking at a $1000 bushmaster (with no goodies). I would kill for a bush, but would be very happy for the AK. Yes, it's my first rifle. Funny eh? Yeah I know, I've been shooting shotties and handguns for 10 yrs. Don't get me wrong, I've shot plenty of rifles...never owned one. Now is the time! FYI, I own a Rem. 870 w/piston grip stock (00 buck) and a Walther P99 .40 (165g. hydrashoks). Home and personal defense is one thing, I'm just now getting into "shooting". I'm open here, lemme have it!:D

MTMilitiaman
January 31, 2006, 01:37 AM
Get the Rommie.

Theres something to be said about a rifle that takes a licking and keeps on ticking, and takes the cheapest stuff you can fit in the magazine, spits it downrange, and asks for more. Yeah, we clean our guns and probably don't need something that can be filled with sand and keep jugging along, but I say it is nice to have anyways.

DTakas
January 31, 2006, 03:12 AM
I too would go with the AK. Not because I think it's a better gun but if you are just shooting for fun you will find the "goodies" really make a difference in the fun factor. Both are good guns in different ways but I wouldn't pay more money for a gun I'd have less fun shooting.

root
January 31, 2006, 04:39 PM
Kinda off topic, but I have a quick question for you Romanian AK owners, how safe/reliable are they?

Having held a few I think they feel like junk, I'm not too concerned about it being TOO terribly inaccurate I'm just looking for a fun shooter (I mean, who doens't want at least 1 AK) Do the romanian AK's (Romanian WASR-10 AK-47 7.62x39) go boom every time? And are they safe? As I understand they were assembled by century arms, don't they have a somewhat notoriously bad reputation?

root