PDA

View Full Version : AR Info Needed

steffen95
January 30, 2006, 07:21 PM
Hi All,

I recently went to the local gun club with a friend and got the bug bigtime. I immediately joined and bought a shotgun for the skeet/Trap shooting. The outdoor range is 200 meters and I want to get a kick ass AR to have some fun with.

I am looking for opinion on the best AR rifle (Colt, Rock River, Armalite, Bushmaster, etc...)

What length barrel would be best given the length of the range I will be using?

What kind of optics should I be using? I want to get the best technology available and see so many different things. I am a total newbie. I see some guns have traditional scopes but then some have EOTech and other similar optics attached. What are the differences and beneifts of each.

I know it is asking a lot, but I am really fired up to go buy something and want to do it right.

Thanks in advance.

armedtotheteeth
January 30, 2006, 08:05 PM
Depends on what you want, You want a semi auto?? i dont know alot about the 223 and 308s versions, I have one in 300 Mag. Bolt action. It is a bit more than most people want, Especially for 200 yards. It can be see on the thread, "Say hello to my little friend" I took a pic of my 200 yard group. Youll like it . I am one to speak for Armalites quality though. Very tight gun. Lifetime waranty. I think they are a bit pricey though, They got ARs from 223 to 50 BMG.The really really Acurate big ones are BOLT action though. Oh i forgot about the survival AR 7 i think. Made in 22 LR. quit making it in 1950 something though. Anyways, just depends on how many greenbacks you got, Any how often you shoot it. But you cant go wrong with an Armalite. Colts are good too. I shot a colt Ar 15 . It was fun.I cant complain.Take your time, dont just run to the pawn shop and pic up someone elses worn out junk.

Nicotine
January 30, 2006, 08:17 PM
you could get an AR style rifle with some versatilaty...
http://www.cobb50.com/mcr.htm