PDA

View Full Version : Break in Ammo? Quality of ammo?

condor86
September 19, 2005, 11:54 AM
Hello all! I get my first handgun this wednesday (after 10 days of waiting) its a .45 SW99.

My main question is how to break it in...if there is such a thing. I sell boats and there is a definite break in procedure involved, is it like that for guns?

I have been told to clean it first....but can i run inexpensive ammo through it without causing any problems?

Any help would be great, tips, suggestions thank you.

aaron

Eghad
September 19, 2005, 12:00 PM
I would suggest a field strip and clean....

then a cleaning about every 100-150 rounds

condor86
September 19, 2005, 12:52 PM
where can i get info on a field strip? Sorry, i am a total newby. also what about the ammo quality again, does it matter? thank you.

TheEgg
September 19, 2005, 05:00 PM
I would suggest staying with factory ammo. It is very easy to get bad re-loaded/re-manufactured stuff. Stick to Winchester, Remington, UMC, Blazer, etc. Or, my favorite cheap blasting stuff, Wolf polymer coated (ducks and covers! :D ) But, you don't need expensive Premium ammunition for just wringing out your new gun. You may want to invest in some after you get familiar with it, and when you want to put it in service as a defensive weapon.

Your owners manual should have the instructions on field stripping and cleaning. Follow those instructions -- your dealer (if he is a good one) should also be happy to run you through the basic manual of arms and field stripping.