PDA

View Full Version : What's the line on decocking - good news/bad news

StL Bill
September 12, 2005, 11:23 AM
I am a newbie to large calibre handguns...have a link on best 9mm going...
I notice that there are decocking models out there. What are they and what's the good new/bad news of such a feature.

I have been looking at CZ 75 model....both B and retro. Any thoughts on the practical differences.

As always thanks for your experience and perspectives

3 weelin geezer
September 12, 2005, 12:07 PM
I don't really pay any attention to it being that I like wheelguns without safeties.
Its supposed to be a good safety feature if you have muddy/bloody/greasy hands. I suppose its a good thing just that its not on a handgun I would used to hunt anything worthwhile like a deer. That gun is a single shot 30-06.

antsi
September 12, 2005, 12:16 PM
Decocking is generally found on DA-SA semiauto pistols.
DA-SA has some advantages and disadvantages.

PLEASE NOTE - I do not necessarily agree with all these supposed advantages and disadvantages, I'm only relating some commonly cited pros and cons.

Advantages:
Heavier trigger pull for first shot (this is purported to reduce unintentional trigger pull under stress)
Light single action pull for follow up shots or "cock-and-aim-precisely" shots

Disadvantages:
Different weight trigger pull between first shot and follow up shots
Need to practice this manual of arms (get in habit of decocking before holstering, for instance)

I personally do like the original SIG pistols, which are DA-SA. Like everything else in engineering/design, it is a compromise - you give something up in favor of something else. It all depends on what's important to you.