PDA

View Full Version : AR15 optics

nobanforme
October 6, 2004, 06:02 PM
I was wondering what you all thought was a good way to go for optics for a Bushmater 16" ar15? I would mostly being using from 300 yard and in. :)

chiz45
October 7, 2004, 12:00 AM
Depends on your definition of 'optics.' Magnified? Red dot? what type of receiver, flattop or carry handle?

for that distance, i have an EOTech 552. An Aimpoint CompM2 will work for that range too.

For magnified, it looks like the ACOG would fit the bill nicely...if you can fit the bill. Close to $1k!

nobanforme
October 7, 2004, 10:14 AM
It's an A2 config. I am looking for something like a red dot. I have never used one before but I am interested to try one out.

Johnny Guest
October 7, 2004, 10:24 AM
It may seem heresy to write this here, where the emphasis seems to be on MildotMoonscopeYardlongSuperhighmagnificationPicatinnymount telescoptical sights, or else ReddotgreenyellowbluedotBlindingfloodlightLaserdesignatorInfraredUltraviolentLightamplification devices - - -

But I’ve had surprisingly good service from a little Chinese made knockoff of the Colt scope. I picked it up at Cheaper Than Dirt about three years back, for $39.95 + tax - - the price may be up to $50 now. I got the 4X, because it seemed a bit clearer than the 3X. Its own integral mount fastens firmly and repeatably on the carry handle and it had a drop compensator out to, I think, 400. (Yards, meters, furlongs? Who knows?) Short, quick to use, rugged enough to ride in a case in the car trunk.

I keep my Colt AR15A3 handy, NOT as a super varmint rifle nor as a designated sniper, but to secure a perimeter until TAC arrives, to back up the uniformed guys, and for H&I of four legged varmints at short-to-medium range. The only other accessory on the little carbine is a snap-on plastic cheek rest. No bipod, lights, siren, bells, or whistles. This little combo suits my needs very well.