The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old January 19, 2002, 11:36 AM   #1
saands

.243 enough for Boar?

I might have an opportunity to do a wild boar hunt on the central coast of California in a couple of months and was wondering what the general consensus is on whether a .243win is sufficient for this. My guess is that we won't be seeing anything in the 300+ pound range. I'm building a 243 right now and it should be finished and ready in time ... it sure would be nice to take it into the field. If the .243 is marginal, however, I can go bigger with no real inconvenience.

Thanks,
Saands

ps ... I was thinking 100 grain bullets on top of H1000 which should scoot along at somewhere near 3000 fps according to the tables.
Old January 19, 2002, 01:16 PM   #2
Al Thompson
Staff Alumnus

A good friend hunted in that area with a 6mm. He did use Nosler Partitions with good results.

Giz
Old January 19, 2002, 01:30 PM   #3
wvboy

I am no expert on rifles by any means but a .243 is capable of a lot more than people think. It's probably considered a little to light to shoot at something that will bite back ,but I think it will kill one with no problem. I have had three .243's but never killed anything with them. I can't seem to find one that I really like. One was too heavy,one too short and the other just woudn't group, so I sold them all. Hopefully I will find one that I like because I love that caliber. I know I didn't help any but I am snowed in and bored so I had to write something.
Old January 19, 2002, 01:32 PM   #4
C.R.Sam

.243 plenty gun. 45 70 not enough with bad shot placement.

Sam
Old January 19, 2002, 04:35 PM   #5
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

Concur with man of few words.

, Art
Old January 19, 2002, 09:37 PM   #6
C.R.Sam

Tnx
S
Old January 19, 2002, 09:58 PM   #7
Zorro

Go bigger. Never heard of a hog being overkilled.

Say 6.5 X 55MM minimum.

I suggest 12 Guage Slugs, 308/30-06 or 45-70 as a good choice.