The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old February 16, 2012, 01:39 AM   #1
toasty

A trigger that does not like the cold

I recently acquired an old Ruger 44 mag semiautomatic carbine (made in 1963). It works like a charm in warm weather, say above 50 deg F, however, as the weather cools, the trigger becomes progressively harder to pull. Below 30 deg F it is nearly impossible to fire. However, it returns to normal if the rifle warms back up.

Would this be a problem that can be corrected by cleaning do you think, or is this more likely to be a mechanical problem?

Ruger literature strongly advises against dissassembly of the trigger mechanism, so I have not yet attempted that. (Believe me, if the trigger mechanism is more tricky than the rest of the rifle, I may not want to).

As a newcomer to this forum, I can tell that some of you have tremendous experience with firearms. For myself, I have 50 years of hunting experience, but aside from cleaning my guns, I have never messed with the trigger assemblies.

Thanks for any suggestions...
Old February 16, 2012, 02:49 AM   #2
Scorch

Yes, cleaning will solve this. No, you do not need to disassemble the trigger mechanism to do it. Either soak it liberally with a good gun solvent like Hoppes #9, or get some GunScrubber and hose it out. Don't forget a few drops of light oil afterwards if you use GunScrubber.
Old February 16, 2012, 08:39 AM   #3
Goatwhiskers

For what it's worth, you do not, repeat: do not want to disassemble the trigger group. I had one brought in that the owner had completely taken apart the entire gun for me to put back together. Life got real interesting. Goat
Old February 19, 2012, 12:13 PM   #4
triggerman770

trigger

and use a very light oil 10W or less. heavy oils tend to gum up the fire control group
www.georgiacarry.org
Old February 19, 2012, 02:28 PM   #5
brickeyee

Quote:
heavy oils tend to gum up the fire control group