The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old February 10, 2012, 10:47 AM   #1
4T4MAG

Cleaning Jags

I have been using brass jags for many years. I am looking at polymer, nickel plated and aluminum jags for copper solvent ammonia based cleaners such as wipe out patch out and foaming solution. The brass jags will give a false positive indication on copper fouling, BUT, are the polymer and aluminum jags too hard or soft that they would harm the bore or too soft and pick up debris and act like sand paper? Will the aluminum mar? Also, clean from the muzzle or the breach? I used a coated Dewey rod and most all of my rifles are stainless.
Old February 10, 2012, 11:10 AM   #2
jaguarxk120

I don't think it matters what material is used for a jag as long as you keep it clean. I generally do not drag my tools in the dirt, but I always wipe the cleaning rod and jag before they go into the barrel from the breach end.

Usually I start with a solvent cleaner (Ed's Red) and abrass brush to remove any carbon/powder deposits. Then with a nylon brush to work in the copper remover. Sometimes I'll use a headless machine screw wrapped with a cotton batting to make a mop, that will carry solvent/bore cleaner into the bore. I'm very generous with the cleaners in the bore as a new patch will carry them out with one pass.
Last pass is with a oiled patch.
Old February 10, 2012, 02:27 PM   #3
Eazmo

I am using just the old outters plastic jags on my stainless Dewey rod for copper removal.
they actually work quite well. i not worried about them being to soft to pick up debris as the patches i use completely cover the jag.

Bore tech does offer a complete line of jags that will not give a false positive
Old February 10, 2012, 07:32 PM   #4
Dfariswheel

Plastic tips do have a problem with breaking off the rod and leaving the threaded shank stuck in the rod.