The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting > Bullet Casting

Old June 18, 2010, 06:43 AM   #1
Auss1e

which order for cast bullets?

Ok so i cast but i need to lube prior to sizing in my LEE sizer, which then means they are covered in Alox so i cant oven harden. But if i heat treat in the oven and then size they say sizing will reduce hardness?? So which step comes when?
Old June 18, 2010, 08:35 AM   #2
reloader28

I am no expert and others will come with better opinions than mine, but I run mine thru the lube sizer dry, then heat treat, then run back thru and lube.

I've had no problems doing this, so its the way I do it IF I heat treat, which I seldom do. I dont see a problem dry sizing as the size die is much harder than the lead. If it starts screwing up the boolit, then try something else.
Old June 18, 2010, 02:45 PM   #3
snuffy

Auss1e, some use a solution of dish soap and water, about 50-50% to lube while sizing. Then a rinse in plain water to remove the soap. Others use case lube on the bullet to ease it's passage through the sizer. Sizing bare is not a good idea. The sizer will lead up just like a gun barrel.

As far as surface softening of a heat treated bullet, I don't know if, or how much softening occurs.

They're going to get their butts kicked over there this election. How come people can't spell and use words correctly?
Old June 19, 2010, 01:34 AM   #4
chris in va

Quote:
Auss1e, some use a solution of dish soap and water, about 50-50% to lube while sizing
I'm gonna have to try that...right now I'm using liquid ALOX to size, but when I reapply afterward it ends up with too much on the boolit nose and gums up my feeding cycle.
Old July 17, 2010, 07:50 PM   #5
noylj

Sizing

Why size? A bullet 0.002" larger will shoot just fine. All I do is tumble them. Never saw a need to harden except for magnums.
Old July 17, 2010, 08:39 PM   #6
GP100man