The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old March 15, 2009, 05:23 PM   #1
ADB

Hi everybody. Question about building a shotgun.

I've been lurking around here for awhile now, but I had a question about a project I've been considering, and I thought this would be by far the best place to ask it.

I was thinking about trying to build a basic shotgun for fun and usefulness. This would be a small bore (.410) single shot weapon mostly intended for varmint killing: snakes, and the weasels that attack the chickens.

Being that this is my first project, and it's a varmint gun, I'm trying to make it idiot simple and relatively lightweight. My question is about the barrel itself. Considering the low power nature of what I'm building, it necessary that I buy a "real" barrel, or could I improvise one out of something else? Say, steel pipe, or 1" steel bar with a nice reamed hole to the proper diameter? Obviously varminting this thing is probably never going to be used at more than 10 feet or so, so accuracy isn't a big issue. Pipe would be far easier (I'm not even sure how I'd ream out a ~2 foot length of steel bar), but I've heard people suggest that steel pipe would split or explode under the force of a .410 shell going off.
Old March 15, 2009, 05:39 PM   #2
rantingredneck

Considering that a single shot NEF can be had for about $120.00 and will outlast you to be handed down to your heirs, I'd say go that route and forget the steel pipe and such.

Just my .02..........

PCCA Member (What's PCCA you ask? <- Check the link)
Old March 15, 2009, 05:49 PM   #3
Jim Watson

Buy it or build it, just remember, the barrel must be at least 18" long and the whole gun must be at least 26" long to be legal in the USA.

I would want at least high pressure tubing to make a shotgun barrel. A 20,000 psi tube with 3/4" o.d. will have a .438" i.d. which will probably work ok, considering that .45 Colt - .410 shot combos are feasible.