The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Harley Nolden Memorial Institute for Firearms Research

Old June 22, 2008, 05:00 AM   #1
jurupari

First post in this Forum

Hi everybody! first post here, so I greet everybody on this forum and excuse myself for my bad English.

I was redirected here on advice by TheBluesMan, in the General Discussion forum. I'm not a weapons expert, and need help, if I can say so, in the name of culture.

A friend of mine, a Brazilian, is in the process of putting up a museum of the Military Police. The weapon section is in really bad conditions: no labels, nothing in written form, no inventories... She sent me some 79 (!) photos of all kinds of firearms, asking me to help identifying them. I was able to information on some of the weapons, but many of them are totally unknown, without marks (or marks are not showing in the pictures).

What I need is basic information (brand, caliber, weight, barrel length, range...) that will go on the label when the weapon will be on show in the future museum. Of course, pointing me to a site where all or part of this info can be retrieved is also welcome.

The weapon in the attachment is an example: it's most likely a tear gas launcher (as Amp 44 in the other forum informed). I know it's an almost impossible task, but can some super-expert tell me more?

Thanks in advance for any reply
Tommaso
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Imagem 011.jpg (138.3 KB, 223 views)
Old June 22, 2008, 09:11 AM   #2
Jim Watson

The illustrated device is a Federal Laboratories 1.5 inch tear gas gun.
They were available as long ago as 1933 and were manufactured for many years, and kept in service even longer.
I could not find descriptions of its range and other capabilities.

(Modern tear gas shell launchers are usually rifled 40mm instead of the smoothbore 1.5" and 37mm guns.)
Old June 22, 2008, 11:30 AM   #3
4V50 Gary
Staff

Welcome to the forum.