The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old January 28, 2008, 04:51 AM   #1
MTMilitiaman

What makes it so difficult to suppress a .45?

I have no experience with suppressed weapons, but from what I have gathered, the .45 is relatively difficult to suppress compared to other handgun cartridges. This makes little sense to me, as most rounds are already subsonic, and the cartridge operates at relatively low pressure.
Old January 28, 2008, 10:06 AM   #2
oldcspsarge

Bad 411

45acp is NOT difficult to suppress !

Its a matter of what type of pistol, replacing the barrel with a threaded barrel and setting it up to run.

OR Buy ak HK USP Tactical. but a supressor and screw it on !

Someone was just giving you bad info.

Glocks and HK are simple, 1911's a little tricker due to barrel lock up system
and having slide recipricate properly.

FYI
Old January 28, 2008, 04:44 PM   #3
aroundlsu

They are louder than a similarly suppressed 9mm simply because the hole is bigger which means more gas coming out the end. A .22 moves fast but is very quiet because it's a very small hole.

I'm speaking from experience. I own a USP CT .45 and a suppressor.
Old January 29, 2008, 04:43 PM   #4
Ledbetter

unless you stop the slide from reciprocating, a large amount of gas and noise can escpe from the breech.

Ledbetter
from thefiringline
TFL #4573
NRA for Life
Winchester Canyon Gun Club for Life
Old January 29, 2008, 07:34 PM   #5
schmellba99

The .45ACP round itself is one of the easier rounds to supress, typically because it is very difficult to have an operating platform that can safely launch a projectile at supersonic speeds.