The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old June 5, 2007, 03:45 PM   #1
SCREAMIII2006

AR ballistics,muzzlebrake or not?

I am new to ARs,but I am catching up.
I wanted to know if there is a significant difference in accurecy in using a muzzle brake or just a varmit/target barrel.

I only target shoot and at the max is 100 yards.
The AR has more kick then my 22's,so its hard to watch the bullet hit the paper.
And I have to reaquire the target after each shot.

What I have been contemplating is getting a 20" flattop upper.

my question:

a.Bull target barrel
b.standard barrel with muzzle brake
c. something I havent considered
Old June 5, 2007, 05:20 PM   #2
Magnum Wheel Man

I'm certainly not an "AR" snob... in fact don't really like them much... but I do have a flat top match barrel, 20X scope equiped AR with a custom compensator, & it stays put enough that I can see impact, wheather on paper or doggie...
Old June 5, 2007, 06:30 PM   #3
FirstFreedom

Quote:
I only target shoot
That's the key. You don't really need or want a muzzle brake.
even though in all likelihood, it would NOT affect accuracy at all. But since it's wholly unnecessary for target shooting one round at a time, taking you time between shots, why risk it? Go for the bull barrel, no M.B.
Old June 5, 2007, 06:40 PM   #4
SCREAMIII2006

Yeah but....

well,one for,one against

I guess I'm just used to the low recoil of my 22's.
Old June 5, 2007, 08:18 PM   #5
Jimro

Good technique will help with the recoil. For accuracy use a standard buttstock and place the side of your chin against the stock the slide your face down until your cheekbone stops the movement. You should have a prominent roll of skin poking over the top of the stock and you should rest the whole weight off your head on the stock. This will help keep recoil consistant and make it more manageable.

My vote is heavy barrel. You can always add a muzzle brake later if you want.

Jimro