The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old February 10, 2000, 09:31 PM   #1
slymule

Am buying a new Ruger Redhawk in .44 mag. This is only the second revolver I've ever owned, and don't know alot about them. I know from inspecting a number of the Redhawks, before I ordered mine, that a trigger job is definately going to be the first order of business. Should I take this new gun in to a gunsmith and have him check the timing, as I have no idea how this is done? Or should it be okay coming from the factory brand new? What other things should I be looking for once I get my gun in hand? I'll be shooting some very hot loads in this gun and I want to make sure everything is up to par. I've read some posts referencing "trueing an action" - could someone please explain. Is this the same thing as "timing"? Please include a detailed explanation - remember, I said I was a newbie when it comes to wheel guns. Also don't be shy about saying maybe I'd be better off just taking it to a gunsmith and having him inspect it when he puts a trigger job on it. Now heres the bad part, I've never used any of the local gunsmiths, so all I can do is ask for recommendations around town as too who is good and who to stay away from. Thats the reason for the questions on what to look for - I'd hate to have some local yokel say it needs a bunch of work that it doesn't. All suggestions are welcomed. Thanks guys.
Old February 10, 2000, 11:36 PM   #2
George Stringer
Staff Alumnus