The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old February 15, 2005, 09:47 PM   #1
CraZkid

What to expect

My first IPSC shoot is this weekend and I will be feilding my beloved CZ75B 9mm. I have been shooting at ranges for 4-5 months and I think I am getting pretty good, but ipsc is a different ball game. What range wil the targets be at (closest, farthest, average), how good can a new shooter score, how fast will I need to shoot. The reason fo these questions is that at 7-15 yards I have no trouble making good groups (3-6 inches respectively) rapid fire. But out at 25 yards I am lucky if all my shots hit the paper. I think the problem may be that the target gets realy blurry for me, but that might be because I am focusing to much on the sights. It also may be that I am slightly intimidated by that much range. Closer in I point and shot reflexivly, I just can't seem to do that at 25 yards. Any tips or drills that might help me? Should I use hotter loads (currently 115 grain winchester valpak)?
Old February 15, 2005, 10:30 PM   #2
MX5

Welcome to IPSC. Be safe, have fun, and scope it out. Stage design varies by club. I would say the closest targets are at under 5 yards, the average target is 10 yards and anything beyond 20 is getting out there. The trend is away from long shots, but a 25 yard target isn't totally unheard of at some clubs.