PDA

View Full Version : Armalite and Eagle Arma the same?

Fatelvis
July 18, 2001, 07:17 PM
Why are some rifles marked Eagle Arms, and some Armalite, if they`re the same company? Or are they? Is one inferior in quality to the other? I would appreciate any help, I`m looking to buy one, or the other. The Eagle Arms rifles seem to be less expensive.

AR-10
July 18, 2001, 07:45 PM
It's less expensive for a reason. I'm not sure what that reason is, because I've never seen an example of Eagle Arms.

Armalite is very diplomatic about skirting the issue. They want to sell both. I assume (here we go) Eagle Arms to be of lesser quality, because they are cheaper. I wouldn't buy one, because I am a contractor and I see the difference between brand A and brand B all the time. I want to spend my money on the best and be happy. Not save two hundred bucks and regret it.

Not very informative regarding your question, but I suggest brand A.

Actually, if you are shopping for an AR-15, I recommend a Bushmaster.:)

jrp
July 18, 2001, 09:14 PM
Eagle Arms bought the Armalite name a few years
back. Prior to that, all their products were "Eagle Arms".
I have a match grade AR-15 with a two-stage trigger
and air-gauged Douglas SS heavy match barrel - very sweet
and certainly not a "budget" gun.

Since the name change, it's possible they have come
out with a lower-priced product line using the Eagle
name, but that was not the case in the past.

Willy
July 18, 2001, 10:49 PM
Armalite sells the Eagle arms brand and it is their "lower priced" line. They seem to give a lower price by not offering the lifetime warranty on the Eagle stuff and usually have some different components.

That said, the Eagle Arms stuff is in no way inferior. Take a look at the new Eagle Arms AR10. The fit and finish is first rate. The range reports have been good from the few that I have heard. Armalite doesn't make a cheap product.