PDA

View Full Version : Help Me Disassemble a Springfield ported 1911A1 V-12

IMtheNRA
July 11, 2001, 12:58 AM
Hello, I bought my first 1911-type: a stainless, ported V-12 version and it looks and feels great! Can't wait to get it to the range this weekend! Here is my embarassing problem:

I've been trying to strip it and I'm having trouble with the very first step - unscrewing the guide rod! It seems very tight. I tried a screwdriver, then a penny since it fits the slot perfecty, but the rod won't budge no matter what. Naturally, I scratched up the front of the rod already :( so I'll be ordering a replacement from SA.

How much force should I be using on it? I don't want to bend anything inside. I'm new to 1911s, so any tips would be appreciated.

PreserveFreedom
July 11, 2001, 02:00 AM
I haven't played with a 1911 that has a guide rod yet, but the ones that don't have one have two ways of disassembling. One is from the front and one is from the top. Starting with the barrel bushing or guide rod would be from the front. You should also be able to pull the slide back far enough so a notch lines up with the mag release. Push it through from the other side and remove it. The slide should then pull forward and off. I am not 100% sure if your pistol is like that, but the 1911's I am used to are. Hope that helps.

AR-10
July 11, 2001, 06:25 AM
To remove the spring, barrel, etc., the guide rod must be unsrewed. I'm not 100% sure this is true. I do know that you cannot re-assemble a V-12 or a V-16 by pushing the assembled guide rod and spring in from the back.