PDA

View Full Version : Which of these deals is the best bang for you buck?

John357
June 16, 2017, 08:43 PM
Hey guys. So I am a 19 y/o college student who wants to buy their first very own shotgun. Here are some great deals on Bud's Gun Shop that I have come across, and I'm having a hard time narrowing down what I would like due to my inexperience.

https://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/34511/MOSSBERG+88+FIELDSECURITY+COMBO+12+GAUGE
--This is a Maverick 88 Field/Security Combo for only $228. It comes with an 18.5 barrel for HD, as well as a 28 inch barrel for hunting.
--It has a capacity of 6 rounds

https://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/719014607/Mossberg+M500+8-Shot+12+GA
--This is a Mossberg 500 with a 20 inch barrel and an 8 shot capacity for $249
--It also comes with a heat shield (not that important to me, but it is included).

I am having a hard time deciding, because I like the benefits of the ambidextrous tang safety on the 500, as well as the larger capacity. I would just go with the Mossberg 88 and increase it's capacity, but I have read it is very difficult to install an extended magazine for it.

I would like a shotgun for home defense, shooting clays, and hunting. So on paper, two barrels for that price sounds excellent.

But worries I am facing are whether or not the quality of the Maverick is not as good as the 500. I've heard they're damn near the same from some and the quality difference is negligible, and have heard others who bash the 88 (but I suspect they're just being snobby about it's inexpensive price point). An additional worry is the capacity loss of the Maverick 88. Is that even a big deal, or I am just being too picky?

Please do not suggest I get an 870 Express. I have heard far too many horror stories about them ever since Freedom Group took them over. Any other gun suggestions are welcome though. My budget is only $300.

Thanks guys!

GarandTd
June 16, 2017, 09:56 PM