PDA

View Full Version : I think I want a new CCW

Bartholomew Roberts
January 19, 2016, 05:18 PM
I've been carrying a Hi-Power on and off for over 20 years now, with regular carry for the last 15 years. Lately, everytime I shoot almost any pistol I am overcome with a powerful urge to replace the Hi-Power. I shoot my Glock 26, I think "I need to buy a 19 and retire the Hi-Power." I run a few rounds through an M&P or USP and I have that same feeling of a hungry guy in the grocery store who just wants to buy everything he sees.

I have a lot of love for the Hi-Power; but I like to shoot - and my Hi-Powers just require too much work and attention to keep running as high volume shooters. Worse, a lot of the work is old-school hand-fitted gunsmithing that I am not competent at. You can't just drop the new part in a Hi-Power and call it good.

Then I read about somebody's 100k Glock, or the HK45 that went 50k with no stoppages and a single spring breakage, and I think why am I beating my brains out on a pistol that at 37k has had the barrel, slide stop, firing pin retaining plate, ejector, extractor, and recoil spring guide replaced due to breakage?

So I'm seriously looking for a new piece. I'd like something slim (less or close to 1.3"). Something that can be carried SA cocked & locked or a constant-action type trigger. I want it in 9mm with a minimum capacity of 15rds. I don't want something bigger than 1911 size or as small as a Glock 26. Bonus points if Milt Sparks makes a Versa-Max 2 for it.

Right now, the three big contenders are Glock 19, S&W M&P9, and USP.

Part of the decision is I can't decide if I want a cheaper pistol that will need a little more work; but I can probably work on myself - or an expensive pistol that will last a long time; but need parts made from unobtainium and a mechanical engineering degree when something does eventually break.

So, anything I am overlooking? Anybody had similar thoughts or experiences?

zincwarrior