PDA

View Full Version : New to Trap - Need some shopping advice

klb1217
April 7, 2013, 04:11 PM
Hello, everyone! I am new to trap, and already an addict. I love it! I have been lucky enough to be able to try a variety of shotguns and have kind of narrowed it down. Well, at least I know what is uncomfortable and what is more comfortable.

I am a 5'-4" woman of average build. I don't mind weight, and in fact liked the heavier (but not the heaviest) shotguns. They felt more solid than the lighter ones. Heck, my banjo weighs in at over 13 pounds so anything lighter that is a piece of cake! (not that I shoot with my banjo, although my playing could possibly kill someone...)

I noodled around and found that if I measure from the crook of my arm to approx. the middle knuckle of my trigger finger, that is my LOP. It is about 13-1/4".

I really like the Browning 12-gauge shotguns. I do not care for the semi-autos. My husband has a Citori Special Trap Edition (30", adj. comb), but it is just a bit too long, too heavy, and the LOP is not comfortable. Yes, I can shoot it but it is very tiring after a while. I see myself eventually trying my hand at the other clay sports - skeet and sporting clays, so ideally I would like an O/U. However, given my choices I am beginning to thing a dedicated, single shot trap gun is the way to go for now, and then if I ever get into the others deal with that then. I live near a Beretta shooting facility where I can rent a gun for the day, so I can always do that if the skeet/clays bug bites.