PDA

View Full Version : M1A / FAL reliability, operation question

Strabs
December 29, 2000, 08:03 PM
I've been looking to pick up one or the other (Springfield or DSA). Though I've shot neither, I have handled each and like them both (M1 w/synthetic stock better than wood) and aside from the great differences in some accessory costs (magazines, parts kits, etc.) I've been unable to find much of a comparison in the operation and reliability of the two. I know they are not an HK or Kalishnikov (sp?), but how do they compare in adverse conditions: mud, sand, ice/snow, water (excessive moisture), etc.? How complicated are their use -disassembly, adjustements, etc.?

Thanks,

Strabs

Destructo6
December 30, 2000, 02:36 AM
They're both quite reliable under similar conditions.

The FAL field strips into large parts that are hard to lose. If the M1A is similar to the Garand (should be), with which I have some experience, it's parts are also large and hard to lose.

Overall, they're both pretty user friendly.

ma96782
December 30, 2000, 02:37 AM
That is a SET UP question......after all the US Army had the same problem/question way back when.

There was a Collector Grade book about the M-14 that kinda answered that question...........M-14 vs. FAL

Anyway, the US Army went with the "Invented here, got tooling and training doctrain down," so they went w/ the M-14. The truth was that "Perhaps, the whole concept was flawed." (Large caliber full auto fire.)

Anyway the book is really entertaining and educational, if I could only remember the title????

As for me: I bought the M1A (back when mags were cheap and parts for the M1A were decent).........plus I used to Match Shoot. The sights are WAY better than an FAL and the procedures were there for accurizing, plus the fact that it was O.K. for the DCM (CMP) Matches that I used to go to.