PDA

View Full Version : Colt Delta Elite 10MM

JSAW
February 7, 2013, 04:52 PM
I was perusing a local pawn shop in town and looking through display case when this 1911 caught my eye. It was a Colt Delta Elite, the price tag on it in that particular store was $1,200.

I'm not an expert in guns, but I know it was used by the visual wear on the magazine. When I was done looking it over I tried putting the magazine back in, and it felt stiff and I didn't feel like I should be slamming an empty magazine into it; also according to some pictures I've found of the gun online, the magazine looks to be aftermarket.

I've done a little bit of research and have decided I'd like to own one. I'm a little weary of used firearms and would rather buy them new if at all possible. But I don't really know what kind of price range to expect, I've been seeing numbers as low as $500 - $600 and as high as $2,000 through the bit of research that I have done.

So my questions are; Are they still in production, could I go to a retailer and place an order? Or am I limited to used firearms?

Baylorattorney
February 7, 2013, 04:58 PM
I've owned 2. One new model and the other old. 1200 is too high a price for the older model (slide problems) and its too high a price for the new model. 800 would be more like it for the new model 600-700 for the older model. Both are good weapons.

Baylorattorney
February 7, 2013, 04:59 PM
The new model is marketed by colt for $1,100 new and in production.

JSAW
February 7, 2013, 05:02 PM
Is there any visual external difference between the two that can be recognized?

DealHunter
February 7, 2013, 05:04 PM
I picked up one of the new production models (they only make then in stainless now) early last year and it's a great shooter (I like 1911s); they wanted around 900 for it at the time. I do know that the mags go in "stiff" (I think the mag release is a little tight) so that may be a normal trait of the new Deltas.