PDA

View Full Version : Future polymer handguns?

Phantom8
October 22, 2012, 04:30 PM
Besides the SW M&P, the Springfield XDs, and latest offering from FHN, i was wondering what will be the next polymer handgun to emerge from the major companies for the general public?

... I am trying to decide if I should hold off in getting the M&P .45 now, if there will be something on the horizon soon??.... I am also hesitant about getting this particular M&P because of what I've heard regarding the gritty trigger... and if I can get something else that doesn't need any work done, right out of the box, then that would be great :)

wpsdlrg
October 22, 2012, 05:22 PM
I have no specific "inside" knowledge of any soon to be released offerings, but a couple of very general predictions can be made, I think.

First, the market is largely saturated with brands and designs - and the manufacturers have largely run the technical gambit at this point. Unless someone comes up with something revolutionary, in terms of new designs, there's not much left to offer that hasn't been done already. Now that the "polymer revolution" is at high tide, so to speak, there isn't much else to be done with that. So, I see any new offerings advertised as somehow "better" or "unique", will in fact just (mostly) be gimmicky.

Second, production costs are still on the way up - and will, of course, continue in that direction. Polymer frames have made a big difference in that regard - but the cost advantage they offer will not last. That is to say that prices have plateaued for the time being - but that will not hold. So, I foresee further refinement of production methods, such as use of modular assemblies,
to hold down costs - at least for the "bread and butter" part of the market.

In conclusion, I would say that, if you are waiting for some "revolutionary" new design to show up - it ain't gonna happen.

Phantom8
October 22, 2012, 06:06 PM