PDA

View Full Version : 135gr JHP

Kevin_d77
July 15, 2012, 11:45 PM
I was checking inventory this evening when I noticed something slightly peculiar.....the JHP that I have for both my XD40 and Eagle/Jericho are both 135gr JHP! The .40 cal were given to me as a birthdays gift. They are Winchester Ranger Law Enforcement Ammunition 135gr JHP. There is no other info given on the box (ie velocity or energy). The 9mm ammo is the Federal Premium Hydra Shok 135gr JHP which is also lacking any additional information. I guess I was just caught off guard by this because I assumed the .40 would just be a heavier round.

Typically, for the target ammo I prefer Federal 180gr FMJ over the 165gr ammo. Those are the only 2 sizes I have even noticed while shooting. I am still new to my 9mm (really shooting in general) so I have been trying out the different loads to see what my Baby Eagle likes. I have been shooting Federal 115gr and American Eagle 147gr and put a magazine of the 135gr Hydrashok down range to make sure it feeds ok. I just bought a 100 count of WWB and a 250 count of Remington UMC, both at 115gr for my big range trip that I have scheduled this weekend. So far it has all worked well and I have been favoring the Federal 115gr up to this point.

Guess my question being is there any benefit or disadvantage to the 135gr JHP for the .40? It loaded and shot well, but in a HD/SD scenario, is this too big of a risk? It does say LEO ammo and I seem to remember reading earlier that 135gr 40 will get the job done, but it still feels strange to me.

For my Sig P220 I am using Winchester PDX1 Elite Defender 230gr HP which quotes v:920 fps and E=422? It fed and shot well for me. What do you guys use for SD rounds? I'm always open to suggestions/discussions!