PDA

View Full Version : Browning BL-22 Lever Action

1semaj1
June 30, 2012, 09:50 PM
I have a Browning BL-22 (.22 lever action) rifle that was my dad's. It's now my sons. It's had a few thousand rounds through it in the last few years and I've come to realize that, it's never really been properly cleaned.

How do I "field strip" this rifle

Bud Helms
July 1, 2012, 06:18 AM
What is the purpose of the poll?

Bailey Boat
July 2, 2012, 12:12 PM
I don't know about the poll but take my advice and don't go any further than the manual suggest. If you don't have a manual you can download one from the net.
I've been wrenching on guns for 30+ years and the BL 22 was the most agrivating piece of **** to get back together I have ever held in my hands.

PetahW
July 3, 2012, 09:39 AM
I would only take it down, per the manual, and use a spray blaster to clean the internals, after running a cleaning rod through the bore.

A bit of judicious oiling afterward, and it should be good for another 40 years. ;) . :p

bn12gg
July 4, 2012, 09:10 AM
1sem... FWIW, I'd go over to Rimfire Central forum (Browning Section) and ask the BL22 question. A number of guys can really assist you. By most comparisons, the BL22 is a difficult full strip for complete cleaning. I own a BL22 Grade II and enjoy it but don't put tons of rounds thru it. They are fun petite lever action 22's.

Good luck

.02 David

OJ
July 4, 2012, 10:59 AM
Bailey Boat

Posts: 290 I don't know about the poll but take my advice and don't go any further than the manual suggest. If you don't have a manual you can download one from the net.
I've been wrenching on guns for 30+ years and the BL 22 was the most agrivating piece of **** to get back together I have ever held in my hands.

I'll second that in spades!!